Defining Moments


Sanford is a man who was taught to re-invent himself in the market and in that case he also redefined himself. Divorced twice the workaholic reinvented himself so much that it bled through from his work to his marriage and as a father. That’s what led to a piston rod going through his beloved, restored, 64 and a half Mustang. For Sanford Jorgenson, it was hard to waste time in a garage with a “bunch of losers,” as he defined most men who could not help him climb ladders or get an edge on his portfolio. But Sanford was a captive audience at the garage filled with men who were in for a “quick fix.” Sanford come up to the bench.

Sanford: Hi- I see a lot of guys here who quite frankly I wrote off a few days ago. Comparisons and jealousy don’t make good companions for guys like me. Getting my way meant that if you didn’t get out of the way, I’d run you over and justify it. So I am sitting getting exasperated by every single testimony and Bible verse. It was like a curse to me. Then my cell phone ran out of batteries, a lightning storm took out the cable TV and I already read every magazine in the waiting room- and the I heard this:

“Work hard and cheerfully (oh brother!) as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.” So I thought – “wait a minute I’m self-employed, I’m an entrepreneur, I work for myself!”  Then I started to think about the failures in my marriages, in my career, as a father and as a son. Nothing else matters to me – if it works out at work, and I’m successful there, then everything else falls into place…Right? No, Paul writes more, “Remember that the Lord will give you an inheritance as your reward, and the Master you are serving is Christ.” (Col 3:23) Well raise my rent! I’ve been working hard, I’ve been working for me, and my clients. But why does this redefinition of some sort of Christian brother apply to me? But in truth -it does!  Now I have to admit I am wrong and in Quality Assurance and Competitive Analysis that is one thing I can’t do.

Actually something before the definition of “who I work for” troubled me. Yes I admit that two women left me in the midst of my drive to the top, within a 7 year period I was married, divorced twice! To make it in this world no one at home, no one on my board of directors- not my kids and not my father or mother come first. But Paul writes this–“Husbands must love your wives and never treat them harshly.” (pause) Well if that’s the case I was wrong a lot of the times. Business tells me not to admit my wrongs, stick to my guns, but that’s why we’re in the mess we’re in- guys! Unemployment, trials of men, leaders who couldn’t admit that they were wrong. They still are in jail swearing up and down that “they knew of no wrong doing.” Then there is the Gospel according to songwriter Danny O’Keefe and “Good time Charlie” who had a bad case of the blues: “You play around you lose your wife- you play too long you lose your life.” I was the one who HAD to win and everybody else HAD to lose. This got my attention because if anyone could aggravate any one else was when Daddy got under the kid’s skin, it never was pretty, and I started feeling bad about it when Dave said, ” Father’s don’t aggravate your children. If you do they will become discouraged and quit trying.” How do I know the Bible’s true?  I have observed the results of my actions.

Defining Me

The verse that defines me is one I will cross this Bridge with. The prophet Jeremiah said: “I know Lord, that a person’s life is not only His own. No one is able to plan his own course. So correct me Lord, but please be gentle. Do not correct me in anger, for I will die.” Jeremiah 10:23.

From now on I define myself as HIS SERVANT. I define this life as a temporary protective shell. I define my actions as a man who wants to understand God’s motive, follow the approach of Jesus Christ and wants to be filled and powered by the Holy Spirit. I want to make it across this bridge.

Leave a Reply

