Why we Love


The snow is coming down in Colorado and as predicted most of us get the day off. Not me -however. I am typing away and on the phone getting my schedule down for a convention and media visits later this month in Louisville, Bowling Green, Nashville and Charlotte, North Carolina.

Before that the NY Giants will be winning a Superbowl in Indianapolis (I have been with the Giants since Fran Tarkenton was their QB!) My prediction for a score- New York 28 NE 16. I also predict that Eli Manning will hit Nicks,Cruz and Manning to Manningham for touchdowns and Jacobs will plow one in. Why do I love the Giants? I have been through every emotion there is with the NY Football Giants. I wish I had a picture of my blue helmet with the classic NY in white lettering- just like the pros. The NFL shirt, the shoulder pads and the white football pants. I wonder what my folks did with that stuff? Where were we? We were answering a letter from the apostle John about love and why we love?

Love in Denver
I met and married my wife almost 32 years ago in Denver. I found love in Denver. Through the years she has taught me more about love than I could have learned from anyone else but the most important thing I have learned in our marriage is that God loves me and God loves her more than we know how to love one another. What makes it really interesting is what John tells us about God’s love for us as individuals, as couples and as families in our community.

Dear Denver,

It is not that you are ignorant to the truth that I have written to you, but because you know it, and because of lies, one and all are alien to the truth.”

Who is the liar? Who but he who denies that Jesus is the Christ?

So John is warning us about those who would deny Jesus Christ. When people do that they are calling Jesus a liar. He told us why he came, he gave us a reason to believe. God knows that we don’t believe love unless we see it with our own eyes, so love came down in the form of God’s son Jesus Christ and He actually gave his life for your sins and mine. How does that play in Denver? Why do so many people love God? Because it was God who showed us what love is. God defines love. (Read the letter 1 John 2:18-17) Answer the question – “Where do you live?”

Denverites- “do not be surprised if the world hates you” many of us have crossed over from a death sentence to a life of freedom. The person who does not love is still living in the death culture for everyone who hates his neighbor is a murderer on death row. Just like Cain who killed his brother, if you do not know love you will be under a death sentence on Murderers Row. No murderer has eternal life until the knowledge of love and love is that Jesus Christ laid down his life for us.” So in our sinfulness we might have life and that goes for murder, perversion, embezzlement, you name the sin- Christ died for it. We are bound to love our brothers and sisters by giving up our dreams, our careers, our money, our livelihood for one another. (1 John 2: 9-18). “Love must not be a matter of words” John writes, it must be genuine, and show itself in action. God is greater than our conscience and knows all.”

We love because God first loved us. Have a good weekend and Go Giants!

 

God, you and me

It was first and ten we began again

I don’t want to move these chains no more

It was my delight the first time I caught sight

of you on the night we first met

and love is only good if I love like you.

and I can’t even fathom – just when I learned how to…

Chorus: I love you- you first loved me

and you gave your life for the least of me

and I can see a glimpse of freedom

in love-release me from my slavery- God, you and me.

2. We held hands on a rainy day

we gave our vows, and we rode away

I didn’t know what would happen next

love is so simple and love is so complex.

Chorus: I love you- you first loved me

and you gave your life for the least of me

and I can see a glimpse of freedom

in love-release me from my slavery-it’s God, you and me

Bridge: This band of Gold, to have to hold

in sickness and in health,  I am poor, we are rich,

and love becomes our wealth.

Chorus: I love you- you first loved me

and you gave your life for the least of me

and I can see a glimpse of freedom

in love-release me from my slavery-it’s God, you and me

3. I am sorry for the things I’ve done

I am sorry for what I made it to be

All the things I never won

were nothing to what is meant to be,

Chorus: I love you- you first loved me

and you gave your life for the least of me

and I can see a glimpse of freedom

in love-release me from my slavery- God, you and me.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

