Red,black and blue


I made a left at Homestead Road
astray with the days of old
To pay back debts that I still owe
You can never go home.

I stayed too long on the Avenue
stared too long at the beautiful view
with all these things still left to do
you can never go back

But I knew it when I returned
I’m toasty hot – and half sun burned
Some children nod but they never learn
Do I have to tell you? (How any times)

I met a friend at the cemetery
the silent type – not quite buried
in the evening it was solitary
I’ll never see you again

I rode a wave past the lifeguard stand
Got me trunks filled up with sand
they will never fully understand
how hard I tried

But I knew it when I returned
I’m toasty hot – and half sun burned
Some children nod but they never learn
Do I have to tell you? (How any times?)

How many times? Thanks for taking the time,
Back at the scene of the crime- I left evidence

How many times do I have to tell you?
How many days must I stand and wait?
How many weeks have you been thinking?
Church and state.

How many times have you missed the meeting?
How many times have you found a clue?
How many times have you laid there bleeding
and black and blue? Red, black, and blue.

BT Springs 2.9.12

Leave a Reply

