10 days of Drive Time


In the next forty days God will accomplish much in the lives of His people. This is said without prophetic voice but in God’s system it is a cycle that has been repeated since the beginning of time. The problem is not so much expectations but for those who refuse to give God all the credit but instead give Him all the blame. Too many people will be absent from His doings and will miss it entirely. In our human conditions it is amazing how any of us can see past our own agendas and are blinded to the 365 sunrises that are repeated every 24 hours; the 365 sunsets and everything else that keeps us spinning here on earth.

The sound of our own voice

We miss what God is doing because we have fallen in love with the sound of our own voice and our original ideas! In the last ten days I was traveling and had a lot of alone time to interview, to counsel and to consult people in media. I was in Bowling Green, Kentucky where I was interviewing an author and working with a radio station and something impressed me-I talk too much. I am different from many men where as my mind is continually running and I think a lot of humor, deeper theological messages, and music. Last year around this time I thought about this and I came to the conclusion that I would concentrate on message, music and mission. I like the simplify messages and so as I was getting out of the shower it came to mind that there “always is a danger in talking too much, yet we can rarely listen enough.” Think about all the agendas that are out there. I get calls from publicists, authors and musicians about a new idea that will revolutionize people and yet the only way you can do that if they are willing to listen.

The problem with National Religious Broadcasters

I was in Nashville and I enjoyed all my meetings at NRB. The problem with NRB is the “R” in NRB. Religion makes us deaf to listening to what others might be trying to tell us and what God is trying to say to us. We use religion as a billy club to hit people on the sides of their heads to make a point. No matter how many times we repeat the punchline they will not hear us. I drove from Nashville to Ashville on Ash Wednesday and that point kept ringing in my ear, “I talk too much but I can never listen enough.” What if the “R” stood for “Relationships.”

National Relational Broadcasters

Now that sounds interactive, doesn’t it? If we were to study what God’s word is as a nation, act relational with our community as well as God, we’d have a great three way daily discussion and new opportunities to listen. Measuring in media has been a long-term math problem! But what it comes down to is how many people are reading what we say; are listening to the message and are watching what we do? If I can’t answer that question than I am not very relational. Without love where would we be now?I love writing and I love responding to people’s questions and letters. I grow with the process of writing, reading, recording and listening. I get something out of watching a mentor and shooting a scene. I get more out of listening than writing a piece like this. I can’t go very far without hearing the voices that write the poetry, the articles, the songs and the studies. Sometimes I write my best stuff when I talk to God in ten days of silence.

Ashes

I’m reminded of where I come from

and humbled by all the things I’ve done

back to the ashes

I remember what I’ve failed at

and where the victory you’ve won confronts me

back to ashes

Ashes to ashes

dust to dust

on this dusty road I’m traveling on

I’ve been traveling on.

Ashes to Ashes

Silver to rust

down to earth

where my body belongs

long gone. My soul goes on…

I’m reminded of what I’m made of

and what I’ve made of seasons- life goes on.

It’s in how I respond.

I remember where I’ve been

and what I’ve built on this foundation

burn on…don’t hold on.

Ashes to ashes

dust to dust

on this dusty road I’m traveling on

I’ve been traveling on.

Ashes to Ashes

Silver to rust

down to earth

where my body belongs

long gone. My soul goes on…

I’m reminded of what I’m made of

and what I’ve made of seasons- life goes on.

It’s in how I respond.

Bridge:

I’ve burned too many bridges

being my own man

without a reason to what I’m doing here

and I’ve learned too many lessons

I’ve ignored your plan

and the road you called me to

is far and oh so clear- abstract clear.

Ashes to ashes

dust to dust

on this dusty road I’m traveling on

I’ve been traveling on.

Ashes to Ashes

Silver to rust

down to earth

where my body belongs

long gone. My soul goes on…

I’m reminded of what I’m made of

and what I’ve made of seasons- life goes on.

It’s in how I respond.

So I’m reminded of the wretch I am

destined to be damned, except for what you’ve done

and I remember prison, on my own,

if not for the freedom you have won- this road I’m on.

Ashes to ashes

dust to dust

on this dusty road I’m traveling on

I’ve been traveling on.

Ashes to Ashes

Silver to rust

down to earth

where my body belongs

long gone. My soul goes on…

BT Springs

Lent 2.24.12

Leave a Reply

